Government Main

The Borough Form of Municipal Government

The Borough form of municipal government of New Jersey is a classic "weak mayor-strong council" plan. The Borough form as general law was first created by the Borough Act of 1878. Presently the Borough form of government is contained in N.J.S.A 40A:60-1 et seq. (PL 1987, c 379; otherwise known as the Borough Act of 1987). As of January 1, 2022 there were 253 Borough forms in New Jersey. The Borough form is the largest single form of municipal government in use in New Jersey.

The Mayor is elected at large and serves a term of four years. The Borough Council consists of six members elected at large, and the Council members serve a term of three years. Their terms are arranged so that the terms of the two Council members shall expire at the end of each year.


Additional Links

Contact Information

Borough of Peapack & Gladstone
1 School Street, PO Box 218,
Peapack, NJ 07977